With The Increased Global Demand For Oil And Gas, Undiscovered Areas Of The World Should Be Opened Up To Access More Resources.

It is often argued that to meet the increasing oil and gas demand, new areas should be discovered. Although I agree with this view, I think that using other sources of energy instead of utilizing fossil fuels is way more beneficial to both the economy and ecology. First of all, I believe that discovering unexplored areas fulfill the growing need for fossil fuels. Even if the government has adequate gas and oil resources to satisfy itself, there is no guarantee that these sources would not soon run out. The administration could take steps to address this issue by discovering new areas to find and excavate more gas and oil. Moreover, creating new mines generates vacancies as the processes from digging fossil fuels to making them usable require a lot of workforces. The more employed people, the more economically developed the country is. On the other hand, Although there are several advantages of mining and using fossil fuels by exploring new areas, it should be mentioned that there are some drawbacks as well. Firstly, instead of allocating the fund to discover new areas, the government had better of devoting that money to the development of a clean source of power such as wind energy. Besides polluting the air, fossil fuels cannot be recycled once they burn. Wind energy, in contrast, not only is environmentally friendly but also provides people with renewable assets. All in all, though opening up new areas is useful, the government should consider that this is not the only way to access more resources.