In recent years, many modern readers are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your argument with relevant examples and evidence.

In the context of the technological age, there is a growing preference for e-books rather than the traditional paperbacks among the reading public. From a personal perspective, I believe that this shifting trend is certainly a positive development. When it comes to traditional publications, one may claim that paper books exude a special aesthetic via which readers can feel the intimacy and personal connection with the stories, thus providing a more in-depth comprehension and better literary experience than e-books. Poetic as it might seem, this argument is rather unconvincing as the contents remain unchanged in both traditional and digital versions, which means that regardless of the reading formats, readers still infer the same meaning and emotional values from a particular novel. Therefore, bashing digital publication for their inability to present an extensive reading experience is absolutely illogical. One main reason why it is justifiable to choose e-book over their contemporary counterparts is the environmental benefits entailed. Despite some innovations in the printing industry, printed books have been long and still predominantly made from plants and requires a long shipping process before reaching consumers’ hand, which results in their being one of the major causes of deforestation and environmental injustice. On the other hand, thanks to their digital reliance and worldwide accessibility, there are no extra cost of shipping or printing needed in the production of e-books, making them a much more economical and eco-friendly choice for book lovers. Another advantage of e-books is their lifelong endurance. Unlike traditional printing products whose materials are prone to external damage and physical distortion such as being dog-eared when frequently used, the condition of e-books can be preserved permanently, allowing for long-term usage and sharing among readers. For example, a basic paperback today would degrade in quality in just 5 years, while digital books from Amazon or online book-hubs like Wattpad would last for decades. Considering their affordability and sustainability, I am assured that e-books will be a wiser investment than the old-fashioned purchase of paper book in the modern time.