Many students prefer group studies. Why? How are students affected by it?

Various methods are applied to make the process of studies more interesting. At present, innovations such as outline studies, field trips and other practical sessions are in a vogue. Along with these methods, the old and established methods of group studies is also a commonly preferred way and students mention many reasons for it. The main reason behind the preference of group studies is company. Most of the students prefer this method as they like to be with friends. Students gather and study together, which make studies more exciting. Secondly, group studies help students share innovative ideas to study in an improved way. This method leads to creative and easy ways of learning. There are also many benefits for slow learners. They have advantage as their friends help them inn doing more practice and study extra. Not only these, but a rage of study material can also be shared, and it is economical too. Rather than buying individual extra study material, students in group can pool money and buy expensive reference books. Moreover, interaction with peers gives a better understanding of human nature and that improves interpersonal skills. Those who study in a group actually work in a team to achieve common objectives. On the contrary, negative effects cannot be overlooked. It is a general observation that many students do not take studies seriously. Under the pretence of studies, students waste their time. Moreover, when an individual needs self-training, if he is habituated to study in a group, he may lose more than gain. Not to mention, excessive dependence on a group makes self-studies very boring. To encapsulate, in spite of some shortcomings of group studies, it is an integral part of academic field. I foresee extensive use if online facilities that would enable a larger number of students to contact each other in the digital world. This would bring more merits, if students exercise self-vigilance.