Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Some say the essence of art should preclude the superficial things, in this case, financial funding. Although, I do understand the sentiments of the people having this point of view, I, however, stand with a stance that opposes this notion. I personally believe financial funding by an authorized central authority would only help elevate the arts’ status level and increase public acceptability. There are multiple instances that support such a notion, say, for example, a lot of people refrain from pursuing a career in the field of fine arts despite having a lot of interest in it. The only possible reason for this is the lack of competitive salary compensated for persons in this field. As capitalism has climbed higher than ever before in human history, everyone is talking about productivity and return value; we don't want our hard work to go to waste, therefore the arts appear odd. Art, in the opinion of the majority of people, is not productive, and only a few artists can become famous and financially self-sufficient, merely 1%. The rest keep on either toiling for the rest of their lives or entirely stop what they’re doing due to lack of funds to support them. This is ironic given that we, as humans love to consume art in some form of the other, be it photographs or films. But if asked if we’d pursue this field, most people will definitely refuse for the above stated reasons apart from other non-related reasons. This is why I believe government funding will ensure financial profitability of the artists. However, there have been instances in the past wherein the artistrocrats had complete autonomy over the arts which controlled the artists’ creativity and freedom. Some might say the government could ban certain themes which would limit freedom of expression. Or they would use art as a propaganda, as was done in the centuries previous to ours. Given we are progressing more towards modernism, I believe there would be democracy ensured if the government ever decides to maintain a budget for the art society. Overall, I believe that government support is critical to ensuring that the arts thrive and are accessible to the general population.