Some people believe that govenrment should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion.

In the modern world, advertising plays a unique role in marketing strategies and became a major element in today’s world. While advertisements have demerits such as targeting naive customers, it has its merits as a business industry. Both advantages and disadvantages will be further discussed. One drawback to commercial ads is that it can be directed to target certain groups such as children or illiterate people, who can be misled by false marketing campaigns. Al-Ahram Weekly recently reported that the Egyptian authorities ended the business of 10 agencies that were specialized in marketing unapproved medications, and 95% of the customers were uneducated citizens residing in poor districts. Another negative outcome is that some families may face stress because they are forced to answer the high demands of their dependents. While parents try to control their children consuming activities, some acquiesce to these demands, which can cause financial difficulties to some of them. Thus, it can be said that advertisements have some clear negatives. On the other hand, advertising as an industry is an essential player in the modern world. The amount of money spent on campaigns in 2017 exceeded 500 billion dollars worldwide, according to a report published in The Daily Telegraph. Moreover, advertisers provide a huge number of employment opportunities to different job categories such as directors, creators, business management, and workers. If there are factors that led to reducing the volume of the industry, a vast number of beneficiaries will be affected. Another benefit of advertisements is that it allows consumers to be introduced to new products and opportunities. Despite the useless posters and place-cards, people may find themselves consuming more cheaper products or buying their perfect home. Hence, it is understandable why advertising became a constant business element nowadays. In conclusion, having shown both positives and negatives of advertisements, it can be concluded that despite the drawback of targeting certain groups or ages, which are detrimental in some cases, the benefits of advertising as an industry is undeniable.