Some people believe that global warming is the most important problem facing the world right now, although others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our planet.

A section of individuals consider that over-exploitation of forests has caused a more tremendous impact on our world whereas others believe that global warming is the most urgent problem that individuals are confronting at the moment. Although people who support the latter side have some merit in their argument, I am of the view that cutting of trees has a more detrimental effect on earth. (65) On the one hand, some hold the view that global warming is the bigger threat because it could threaten the eco-system. Since climate change is the major result of global warming, it immensely contributes to incessant repercussions in the environment such as the melting of glaciers. Disequilibrium in environment occurs, due to ice-sheets melting, not only causes abnormal rise in sea level, but also creates catastrophic conditions such as floods which are unfavourable for human population residing in the coastal areas and affects their livlihood. Research shows that there has been unaccounted casaulaties and decline in per capita income in alongshore countries such as Thailand and Indonesia due to floods. Thus due to such extreme impact on people at coastal areas, many believe that global warming is the prominent threat. On the other hand, many believe deforestation can lead to more severe damage to our environment as cutting down trees leads to expansion of deserts. As trees maintain balance in the soil, when the land is cleared of trees, the roots of the trees no longer hold the soil together so it is more vulnerable to soil erosion. Erosion of soil have many detrimental effects on the top layer of soil and it aggravates desertification. Major aftereffect of desertification is very devastating in the form of biodiversity loss. Major example of forest turning into a desert is Amazon rain forest that had suffered rigourously from excessive cutting of trees and ultimately transformed to barrens with no sign of life remains. Therefore such extreme on human lives forces many to support that deforestation is even more dangerous. To conclude, though few people exert that global warming is more deleterious than deforestation, I, however hold the opinion that decline in the area of forest land is extremely dangerous for the whole mankind as it creates drought like situation by turning forests into arid-areas. In case this practice continues, there will be no human race left.