Friends with same opinions or friends with different opinion

It is not easy to make friends and it becomes even more challenging if we have to choose between friends having similar views or having different views. In this essay we will briefly discuss on this subject as different people have different preferences and suggestions. One would find themselves more comfortable with friends having the same opinions. They would prefer approaching a situation with the same views and are great in providing emotional comfort, but they may not be able to provide enough value in taking important life decisions. They should be approached in situations like conflict at workplace, loss of family members, feeling lonely, handling a trauma when a person needs a friend who can sympathise and provide comfort, rather than differing opinions. Friends having differences of opinion will provide more ideas and they will be ready to point out other scenarios which may have not been envisaged. Such friends will be ready to challenge the opinions which would be more beneficial, something similar to brainstorming, what-if scenarios, and locating all the failure points. These may not be approachable for emotional comfort, but they can be approached when important challenging decisions like purchasing a house, investment, job offers have to be taken. In conclusion, feeling more connected to friends with similar opinions is obvious, however mates with opposite views will always complement the person and it is important to have a mix set of friends so that based on the circumstances we can get different view-points which will help us in taking better decisions. Depending on how emotional or strong a person is, they need to have proportionately balanced friends of similar opinions or different opinions. There cannot be a defined rule for this topic, and it will vary accordingly to an individual's priorities and needs. Having only one type of friend is not a good option.