Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The imprisonment is the most common punishment for the person committing crimes. There is long debate revolving around on this prison sentence regarding it's credibility. Lets discuss regarding the upsides and downsides of this and considering other potential alternatives in controlling the crime. The imprisonment has become a obvious method of punishment to the crimes these days the amount of time a person spend on jail would be in proportion to the crime that they have committed. The validity of this punishment tend to change on a case by case basis it might not be an apt to punish a person who committed a civil crime assumming that he haven't created any threat to other person's life. In this the prison sentence makes sense it might give them an oppurtunity to change with the prisons teaching the prisoners with a job once they step out of prison for thier survival. On the flip side the people who committs crime are becoming quite lethargic since they are aware the punishment would only be imprisonment. They tend to do more mistake knowingly this is increasing a lot these days. For example consider the case of sexual harasment of woman, this crime is never declining. On most cases the accused do not care of the imprisonment, with the improved amenities in the prison its becoming a better place for these criminals. And the sense of justice to the victims remains a big question mark. Despite they are know as criminals goverment take care of these prisoners this increases the financial burden on providing the necessities to these criminals. The crimes cannot be controlled until the people fears the punishments. So, we can't draw into the conclusion that death sentence as punishment of all the crimes, degree of crime comitted must also be taken into the consideration. For the Lower degrees of crimes instead of imprisonment alternatively they might be asked to work for an asylum or some other places without an payment, where they can meet people who are living an substandard life who tend to do some work for thier living this might help them realize hardship they face in life which might divert them from crimes. On the other hand the higher degree of crimes require a more vigorous punishments to eradicate these crimes from the society.