In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many societies, youngsters are given the message that anything can be achieved through perseverance. This message can be beneficial to children as it motivates them. However, it can cause some negative consequences. On the one hand, this advice is helpful to the young generation in several ways. Children have many and varied aspirations in their lives and believe that it is possible to achieve them. If parents and the community encourage them that they can achieve their goals through hard work and stay positive, children will learn to endeavour and struggle for what they desire. Moreover, effort and hard work make children understand that doing anything requires diligence and having anything is neither easy nor impossible. Hence, when they grow older and with the various challenges they might encounter in their lives, they do not give up immediately and do not stop striving. Surely, children will become mature and determined people because of hard work. However, children who consider this message may encounter some dilemmas. First, numerous children do not distinguish among realistic and unrealistic dreams. For instance, a child who dreams of being an astronaut assumes that through a lot of struggle at the age of twelve would become an astronaut. This is because she/he does not comprehend that in addition to hard work, other criteria such as age and knowledge will be required as a consequence when they reach that age, they become frustrated. Second, sometimes, despite the substantial effort, children cannot attain the goal they have. Factors such as society or family circumstances and financial status make it impossible to achieve the objective. To illustrate, a hard-working student who dreams of entering a specific university, but due to poor financial condition and not having a scholarship, cannot be admitted to that university. Ultimately, depression and anxiety will be the result of hard work and not accomplishing the aim. In conclusion, such messages come with their own set of benefits and drawbacks. It can keep children motivated, simultaneously, even a tiny failure might cause mental illness in them.