Some people believe that gambling should be licensed and regulated rather than illegal. Give reasons for your opinion.

There have been heated debates about whether gambling should be banned. However, this essay is of the opinion that the government needs to ban gambling or at least it should be tightly controlled. Analyzing its drawbacks to show an uncivilized community if everyone all gamble will prove this thesis true. It is agreed that gambling is irrational and reckless. As you know, gambling seems to have a strange attraction, gamblers will always have a great chance of winning but there is a high chance that they will lose money but the more they lose money, the more they start playing with more hoping to recoup the capital they have suffered a heavy loss. Casinos calculate their odds so that they will always make a profit. Gambling attracts people with a little money who are desperate for a windfall. These are the people who can least afford to lose money. They should be protected from the temptation to gamble. Gamble should be banned or at least tightly controlled. At the same time, I do not think that gambing is just psychologically addictive in some people. Many people end up gambling to try to recover money they have already lost. This is known as 'chasing losses'. It results in people staking more and more money, most of which they will lose. Gambling addicts often turn to crime to feed their addiction. Addiction is highly damaging to families, since gamblers will spend whatever money they can on gambling. People start to gamble without thinking that they will become addicted. Once they become addicted, it is too late. Obviously, Ben Affleck who plays Batman, is an equally scandalous name when it comes to gambling addiction. He lost $400, 000 to Ron Meyer, President of Universal Studios. In 2015, when she filed for divorce from the actor, actress Jennifer Garner listed her husband's gambling and alcohol addiction as two of the reasons why she left him. Clearly, gambling is a serious thing and as with drugs, it is better to ban gambling to stop people getting started in the first place. In conclusion, people can come to gambling for fun entertainment but do not overdo it to make a lot of money and the government should have stricter control policies on gambling.