Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing goods that are cheap.

These days, when the demand for goods which is not only long-lasting but affordable as well is on the rise, the question of how these products is manufactured must be thoroughly considered by any enterprises. Some argue that business should focus on the usage, referring to the fact that products had a long consuming time will have higher value and thus increase the profit. Others put emphasis on the price, noting that keeping their cost as low as possible must be the first and foremost priority. In my opinion, the quality is the most important aspect of any purchases and therefore I agree with the former. The importance of the durability of the products has its roots on the behaviour of the consumers. To make their money worth, the quality of purchases is the aspect that most people will judge when decide whether to opt for the product. The durability, i. e. the quality of objects to last for a long time without breaking or getting weaker, is one of the fundamental components forming the quality of any particular products, besides the safety, the effectiveness, et cetera. In addition, prolonging the usage time of goods can be an efficient method for protecting the eco-system, which is the result from the reduction of waste disposal caused on consumption. On the other side of the issue, the price is also an integral part of any goods. In certain cases, it can potentially surpass the quality of products in influencing the choice of the buying, especially when the public does not have the necessary finance to comply with. Moreover, it is recommended that business produce goods with reasonable price, since it attracts more to buy, increase their profits and shortens the product lifecycle, that is the cycle of a particular product from introduction to withdrawal. A short-length product lifecycle means more can be produced throughout the period and more money can be gained. In conclusion, business must give serious thought to the trade-off between the quality and price of their products and find solutions to balance them. In my view, business should improve their products quality more since it outweighs the price in respect to the consumer satisfaction and contribution to sustainable development.