In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. Some claim that this has negative effects on both families and societies.

Nowadays, there is a trend that traditional food would be replaced by international fast food in many countries. In my opinion, this trend affects both families and societies although it may meet the living styles of some modern people. The popularity of fast food has negative effects on people’s health. Most the fast food highs in fat, calories, and sugar, which may cause some diseases. For example, many Americans suffer from obesity because they have overconsumed fast food, including hamburgers, chips. Obesity also leads to other illness, which can further undermine their health. This makes them work less effectively and produce less goods so that they earn less money. Another consequence of the popularity of the fast food is that it can reduce the diversity of food. The growing number of fast food restaurants means that customers consume more frequently in those restaurants and less frequently in those restaurants that make traditional food. This makes the owners of these traditional restaurants earn less money or even lose money and they are likely to abandon the business of traditional food. As a result, numerous kinds of traditional cuisines may disappear. This means that people’s lives will be less colorful because of limited food they can taste if fast food continues to attract more and more consumers. On the other hand, fast food meets the living styles of modern people. Most of them are very busy in their daily lives so they desire to decrease their time spent on meals. This desire can be accomplished by consuming fast food since consuming that requires much less time than traditional food. Therefore, workers who eat fast food would have more time and create more wealth than others. In conclusion, the popularity of fast food has more negative influences than positive influences although it may satisfy some needs of modern people.