Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam. ’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is a fact that automobile ownership has dramatically gone up and this trend seems to keep ongoing. Therefore, even smaller cities are affected by enormous traffic jams. The reason why car possession is so popular is affordability and its convenience. The demand for car purchases has been increasing remarkably. In the case that a price of a new one is too high for you, there is a possibility of buying used car. Even purchasing a brand new vehicle does not have to be a big deal, as you can buy it via an installment plan. Regular families, with a sufficient monthly income, have usually more than one automobile. Thus, car transportation has become an easy and accessible way of traveling, I do not think people will re-evaluate their attitude towards it. As a consequence people choose a car rather than taking public transport. In addition, many countries have a problem with infrastructure which might not always be well developed. For instance, this is also a problem in Slovakia. For the reasons mentioned above, the government should take an action. Firstly, state governments could not only promote public transport as a good option as a car traveling, but also make it cheaper and more accessible. Secondly, a good idea would be the creation of a shared car network and support it with mobile applications similar to uber. Finally, crowded cities might impose higher taxes for car ownership or even on entering the city by car as a tourist. Moreover, cities might increase parking fees. I personally think this would lead to a decrease in interset of car possession or its usage. In conclusion, I honestly think that government should have a final word and take action towards discouraging people from using cars. This solution can slowly lead to a change overall attitude of automobile ownership.