Although there is a lot of software available today that can translate from one language to another, it is still necessary for people to learn a foreign language. with this statement?

These days, with the rapid development of technology, virtually every aspect of people’s daily lives has become easier, in which one such is communication with different languages. There are many kinds of translating apps that support this feature, such as Google Translator, Oxford Dictionary, etc. Given how useful these are, what concerns most people is whether these apps will reduce or eliminate the need to study other languages. In my opinion, learning other languages is still indispensable for achieving life satisfaction and therefore cannot be underestimated by any means. Firstly, these software are not reliable at all times. When the need for quick interaction be required, i. e. giving a speech, using too much of them for interpretation is very likely to deteriorate your coherence and leads to potential misunderstanding. In these cases, one has to possess proper knowledge of these languages, which requires a considerable time and energy. In addition, learning another language is not limited to the lexicon or grammar itself. It is also learning about the culture whose it relates to. For example, the word “covidiot”, referred to someone that disobeys the rule that prevents the spread of COVID-19, which is quite prevalent in many countries including Europe and North America, is a brand new word that appeared in the time of the pandemic. Language is a vital subset of the culture, reflecting the behaviour and perspective of the public at the time it was spoken or written. Thus, if one relies only on interpretation software to do the whole thing for them, they are skipping to learn the true beauty of languages and somewhat making a gap between themselves and the culture in which the mentioned language is used. In conclusion, I believe that it is still important to study a foreign language and any translating supports should only assist learners for this goal, not to replace the entire studying.