Some people believe that cell phones have a negative effect on social lives.

Many people think that social life has been adversely affected by the use of mobile phones. I completely agree with this view as people spend their free time on scrolling social media platforms and surfing internet instead of catching up with family and friends. There is no doubt that mobile has drastically changed our lives and it has also made us socially isolated. Earlier people used to have large gatherings on the weekends to have fun with family and friends but nowadays people prefer to stay at home on holidays. The major reason is that they find it more comfortable to talk over phone and with this new feature that enables to add any number of persons on the same call or video call, it has become a great alternative for family meetings. Thus, by ignoring outdoor visits, their lifestyle has also become antisocial and sedentary. For instance, employees of a company prefer to use their breaktime by watching videos and other stuff on phone rather than spending it with their colleague. People do not feel the need to communicate with others to have good time as it is being fulfilled by the cellphones. Social etiquettes and traditional conversation have been affected due to mobile usage. Mobile is not only used for communication it offers many things to do as well like reading newspaper, book reader, browse social media, shop online and so on. Consequently, people have a lot of options to do engage themselves in their interested area. For instance, when meeting with friends or family, they keep checking their phones which is sometimes used as an excuse to avoid the conversation and considered as bad behavior. Moreover, emojis and abbreviations are being used by people to convey the feelings and messages instead of sentences which is not good for their communication skills and etiquettes. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the negative impact of cell phones on the social behavior as people prefer to maintain the relationship by texting or video calling over phone and do not need others to have fun as the mobile phones have a lot to offer other than communications like reading books, browsing internet, e-shopping and so on.