Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Capital punishment or in other words death penalty is an extreme form of punishment to which criminals are sometimes sentenced. However, people have very varied views about the existence of this punishment. While some people believe it should not be used, others are in the favour of allowing it for the most serious crimes. When a person is accused and found guilty of criminal charges, it impacts his reputation in the society. If we consider a criminal who is accused of committing a murder, this person would never be able to lead a normal life again. Let's say he was sentenced to spend a number of years in prison and then allowed to go out. Once he is free, people around him would constantly be scared, he wouldn't get jobs for living and he wouldn't have family or friends for his support. He would need to spend the rest of his life alone. Also, there is no way to guarantee that he would not repeat the offence. Doesn't capital punishment sound like the way out here? Capital punishment may seem like a right choice, for the benefit of the societal peace and the criminal as well. But no one has the rights to take someone's life. The response to a murder should not be another murder. There are multiple reasons to account for not issuing a death penalty. Firstly, it is too easy for the offender who has killed a person as there is very little time of suffering. Secondly, the person who is executing the legalized killing would either enjoy it or suffer from the mental pain of taking a life. Either ways it is not a best option. Finally, the criminal does not get a chance to redeem himself. There needs to other ways of punishing serious crimes. One of the methods would be to isolate the offendor, allow him to lead a simple life with only such basic amenities provided by the government, along with some sessions on rehabilitating oneself. This way the impacted person would understand the loss and pain while his life is not completely wasted either. In conclusion, I would suggest that capital punishment should not be allowed in any instances and better methods need to be researched and discovered to provide effective punishments to people who commit serious crimes.