Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

Capital punishment is a difficult and emotional topic for many. It has arguably been a controversial issue of discussion amongst people. Some are of the opinion that a death penalty is an extreme form of punishment, while others believe it should be authorized for a horrendous crime. The death penalty is not supported by many for several reasons, one of which is that it compromises the basic standard of humanity. Every individual deserves a second chance irrespective of his crime, giving out death sentences would collapse the fundamental structure on which human rights are formed. Another reason is that there is a possibility that an innocent could be punished for the wrongdoings of others. A life in prison is much worse than death because a life sentence prisoner has many years to endure their punishment as well as experience remorse and reflect upon their crime. Though capital punishment is harsh, it is required in some situations where is the crime is brutal and downright cruel such as gang rapes, serial killing among others. It is common sense that the ultimate fear of every individual is death. The death penalty deters people from committing crimes. Along with this, the maintenance costs of a prisoner is much high than execution. In conclusion I think though capital punishment is a radical action, it is necessary to execute it in a necessary situation where the criminal deserves nothing but death. It should be seen that the death penalty is not only after thorough examination so that no innocent receives injustice and the right person gets punished.