Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities while others disagree Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by a certain section of society that using bicycles for commuting is the best option for transport in the metropolis cities; however, not everyone holds the same opinion. Using bicycles in towns would certainly aid as it is the cheapest means of transport and creates no pollution but there will also be some drawbacks. In my opinion, bicycles are the best way to use for short-distance traveling. Firstly, bicycles which do not require any kind of fuel are the cheapest way to transport. In other words, spending a plethora of money on petrol and diesel, which is quite expensive nowadays, is not required. For example, my friend and I always use bicycles to go to supermarkets for buying groceries because we do not have to spend money on fuel, and is cost-effective. Secondly, if bicycles are used for traveling, it would not release any hazardous gases which are harmful to the environment. Despite its advantages, it has some demerits which are undeniable. On the one hand, using bicycles for long-distance is inconvenient. In order to commute to far-away places, people need to choose other means of transport such as a car, bus, and tram. For instance, my cousin, whose office is in the center of the city, travels by car as it is the fastest way to commute. On the other hand, traveling along with family is not possible when people prefer to go on an outing together. In conclusion, although there are some plus points of using a bicycle, problems with larger distance travel and transporting in certain conditions cannot be denied. I believe that bicycles should be used to travel in the vicinity in order to avoid spending money on fuel.