n a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is axiomatic that transportation sector plays a crucial role in nation’s economy. The decision how the monetary funds allocated for transport is to be divided is a vital and hard. Some people believe that money should be spent on developing railway tracks and trains as it would lower the cost of products and save precious time, while other differs that it should be used for public transport which is already in use as it is essential to improve existing means before developing new ones. To look upon the side in favor of railway expansion, the creation of new railway lines will enable faster, frequent, and cheaper trains. To explicate, the time and efforts in transportation of materials and goods would be lesser; consequently the prices will go down. Moreover, a number of local dwellers use this medium to travel to work and back home; hence it will be more convenient for them. Also, the tourists will reap the benefit of this too. To substantiate, according to an article in The Times, 75% of residents of Mumbai makes use of trains on daily basis. To embark upon the opposing side, they argue that expenditure should be focused on improving transport already in use as their maintenance is essential. To ponder upon, improving existing transportation such as buses, taxis and more will be faster task. The roads deteriorate frequently; as a consequence, numerous problems are faced by residents and travelers and money is needed for it to be kept in good shape. To substantiate, according to study by Bangalore University, if the roads and public transportation system is maintained properly, 40% of traffic problems in India can be resolved. In a way to conclude, this essay has discussed upon whether constructing railways is important as to improving the old mediums and agrees to the first one. While improving the public transports is vital for ease of people, the pros of working on new tracks for railway is it will boast the economy.