Some people believe that automation is the future of the manufacturing sector as it will increase efficiency and boost the productive output of factories. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using automation in manufacturing?

A section of the society is of the opinion that manufacturing industries will be operated by computer controlled systems and this will lead to upsurge in efficiency and capacity to produce. This essay will discuss the benefits like socio-economical growth associated with it and the drawbacks such as unemployment and vulnerability of automated systems. To begin with positive side, digitally controlled system being employed in production sector will lead to increase in earnings. In other words, these advancements will in turn enhance the productivity of the manufacturing plants due to which more goods will be produced and sold, leading to generation of higher profits. Secondly, on the social front, increased volume of production will aid in addressing the demand of the population. As a consequence, the average price of the utilities will exponentially reduce and hence, it will benefit the consumers and the society as a whole. However, such a technological revolution in manufacturing industries will undoubtedly increase unemployment. The use of digitally controlled machines will reduce the demand of manpower which will eventually surge the number of people being unemployed. Furthermore, since machines are controlled by computers and softwares, there is a great threat of system crash. As a result of it, the processes may get disrupted which ultimately result in waste of time and money as well as may demand an additional investments to maintain and protect the digital controllers. In conclusion, the automatically operated machineries in manufacturing companies have evolved to be advantageous at financial and communal fronts. Nevertheless, the decrease in human resource requirement and additional maintenance cost incurred cannot be overlooked.