Increase in consumerism is threat for our surrounding. with this viewpoint.

It is often argued that growing consumerism is detrimental to our environment, and I totally agree with this viewpoint. My first argument is that due to a rise in consumerism, the problem of air pollution is increasing day by day. This is because when consumerism increases, the production of different types of goods also goes up. To produce more and more goods for a consumerist society, the number of factories and industries is increasing in many places. These manufacturing units are causing a lot of air pollution by spewing out obnoxious gases into the air. For instance, in many cities of India, such as Delhi and Faridabad, the air quality index has gone many notches up in the last few years, and the main culprit has been found to be the establishment of many factories and industries. The second argument is that due to growing consumerism, the problem of water pollution is also increasing with each passing day with the increase in number of factories and industries, the amount of effluents going into rivers, seas and oceans is also increasing. What is more, the rubbish of parking material and even-used items is also increasing due to a rise in consumption of goods among people. Much of this trash is being dumped into seas and oceans as many landfil sites have already filled up. This waste is usually made up of non-biodegradable substances, such as polythene and substances and hence it posses a big danger to the aquatic life. To conclude, I am in complete agreement with this viewpoint that is greatly damaging other environment.