Around the world, more and more people are living in urban areas. What are the reasons for this? What are the problems with this?

Globally, an exponential increase in the number of population that is migrating to cities from villages. There are a plethora of reasons associated with this trend and of its consequences too. This essay will elaborate on why people are leaving rural areas and coming to urban areas, and the problems that this issue creates in its existence. Ever since mankind has evolved, it has always been in quest of aspiring more and better than it has had. In ancient times, villages were the settlements of civilization however, in the present era, towns and cities have become the new dwelling regions of the masses. One of the most crucial reasons for the exponential increase in the rate of migration is that rural areas have fewer opportunities to offer to their people while urban areas have these in abundance. Consequently, people come to cities in search of opportunities and prospects. Any individual would always strive towards attaining higher status in society than those wherein he is at present. As a result, cities apparently look like a place to fulfill his dreams. Another essential cause of this migratory flow is that Not only that urban areas provide their citizens with better amenities like health, but they also have excellent educational institutions in them. These factors subsequently improvise the living standards of the masses that thrive in these growing areas. On the contrary, individuals need to struggle for these basic necessities in villages. In fact, several rural areas are deprived of these essentials to date, making their lives more challenging and miserable. However, it is not that there are no problems in association with this demanding situation. Firstly, the land along with other resources is constantly depleting each day in urban areas, as surplus migration is occurring. Consequently, there is strife competition among the population in terms of procuring these resources. The rich and influential win this battle, defeating the poor and migrants. Secondly, with population expansion in cities, housing has become a serious concern. As a solution to this, slums have been a part and parcel of these areas, with impoverished health and hygiene. This has emerged a surge in the health hazards to which the urban population is afflicted. Megacities like Mumbai, for instance, serves a hard time to its people in dealing with the cleanliness of the city due to a vast slum cluster in the city center. The municipality heavily spends each year on the improvisation of the health standards in the city, but their efforts have yielded no results. In conclusion, the migration trend witnessed is a global phenomenon that has gained its thrust over several years. The trend has an equal balance of its reasons and its concerns. If this flow is not regulated, there may be a day when there will be a scarce population living in rural areas, as opposed to over-crowding in the urban areas.