Some People Believe That Automation Is The Future Of Manufacturing As It Will Increase Efficiency

A section of the society is of the opinion that manufacturing industries will be operated by computer controlled systems and this will lead to an upsurge in the efficiency and capacity to produce. This essay will discuss the benefits like socio-economical growth associated with it and the drawbacks such as unemployment and vulnerability of automated systems. To begin with the positive side, the deployment of digitally controlled systems in the production sector will lead to an increase in earnings. In other words, these advancements will in turn enhance the productivity of the manufacturing plants due to which more goods will be produced and sold, leading to the generation of higher profits. Secondly, on the social front, increased volume of production will aid in addressing the demand of the population. As a result / consequently, the average price of the utilities will exponentially reduce and hence, it will benefit the consumers and the society as a whole. However, such a technological revolution in manufacturing industries will undoubtedly increase unemployment. The use of digitally controlled machines will reduce the demand for manpower and consequently there will be a surge in the number of unemployed people. Furthermore, since machines are controlled by computers and software programs, there is a great threat of system crash. As a result of it, the processes may get disrupted and result in waste of time and money as well as demanding additional investments to maintain and protect the digital controllers In conclusion, the automatically operated machineries in manufacturing companies have evolved to be financially advantageous for businesses. Nevertheless, the decrease in the demand for human labour and additional maintenance cost incurred cannot be overlooked.