In many countries, youngsters are often encouraged to take an year off, to work or travel across the world, before embarking on their formal university education. This recent trend, also known as “gap – year”, has numerous merits and a few demerits, which will be discussed in this essay.

A significant proportion of employees tend to work in a company lifelong while others try to look for opportunities for growth by serving various job roles. This essay will elucidate arguments by both schools of thought, accompanied by my frame of reference. To begin with, the first and foremost rationale behind the former notion is probability of achieving higher level promotions in a firm. In other words, a worker who stays for longer breadth of time and his contribution benefits a company to grow substantially would definitely considered for higher positions in the office. Therefore some portion of public believes that longevity of a person's career in the same company helps to build a strong profile and leads to professional development. On the other hand, majority of people believe that switching to another organization helps to improve their career graph. By working with different players of the market, one achieves more experience in terms of variable work environment, stark business strategies and innumerable skills. Moreover, a person is driven out of their comfort zone, time and time, which is a requisite for building sense a sense of adaptability and co-operation. Hence, it has merits in its own way. However, in my opinion, it is an indubitable fact that change is the only constant, owing to this functioning for various enterprises has more significance, in comparison to servicing in a stagnant career on a long term basis. To conclude, both assertions are true in their own way and approved to be rational enough by their respective believers, though i agree more with second viewpoint.