Some people believe that animal testing should be banned, while others contrary the point.

People have different views about animal testing. Although some individuals think that there should be a ban on it, others, including me believe that this testing should not be prohibited. On the one side, those believe, who believe that the use of animals in medical laboratories should be prohibited, argue that this experimentation is usually very cruel and unethical. Millions of animals, such as guinea pigs, monkeys and chimpanzees are mercilessly tormented during these experiments. Example, in many brain research centres, the skull of monkeys is cut open with a sharp knife without administering any anaesthesia and then some electrodes are implanted into their open heads. The monkeys have to undergo an excruciating pain during these testings. We, human beings, have got no right to inflict this unbearable pain on innocent animals for our selfish interests. On the other side, in my view also, this testing should not be stopped as there is no other reliable choice. Such tests cannot be clone either on computers on directly on human beings. Computers being machines, cannot prove the accuracy of results, and direct human trails are almost impossible for two major reasons. First, researchers often require a large number of animals for the proper testing of medicines, but it may be practically very difficult to supply such a huge number of humans in the labs. Second, the shorter life span of animals allows scientists to study the medicinal effects on the body through their entire life and even several generations, but this research time would prolong considerably in case of humans. To conclude, although there is an argument in favour of a ban on animal research, my view is that there should not be any prohibition on this testing as there is not other better alternative as of now.