Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as foods, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that parents nowadays more lenient on their children's opinions. Although several societies agree that children become self-centered person when their parents permit them to make options on their daily needs, I would argue that they should make choices the things that influence their life. On the other hand, those who think that encouraging youngster to decide their own decision will lead to a selfish individual might argue that they are still young and don’t have enough experience in life. This is because teenagers are not able to differentiate which one is right and wrong. They tend to take the wrong path in their life, for example, they are likely to avoid fruits and vegetables in their daily consumption and attracted more to fast food. In contrast, if parents educate them to choose the right choice from the beginning, they will practice the right path. On the contrary, in my opinion, they should be exposed to how to voice out their opinion so that they will become more mature. The reason for this is that to ensure they know how to handle difficult situations as they grow up. For instance, it’s clear that children who are taught to make their own choices since they were young more independent and survive in challenging circumstances compared to their peers. However, if they are willing to assemble their choices, they can detect their mistakes earlier and not repeat them again. In conclusion, despite allowing children to choose their decisions on their own will make them inconsiderate, it is my firm belief that this is essential for them to grow and develop their maturity.