some people believe that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Education has been a topic that attracts great attention in recent years. It is thought that all educational institutions should allow learners to focus on their favourite subjects whereas others suppose that students should study only necessary subjects with regard to their later life like science and technology. This essay aims to elaborate both views and express my opinion. On the one hand, people have their own reasons when emphasizing children should only learn useful knowledge relating to their future. First, limited school time of children should be spent on necessary purposes. Because children not only have to concentrate on academic performance, but they are also required to participate in the extra curriculum and physical activities in order to foster their social skills. Second, studying practical knowledge such as science and technology subjects contribute to the insurance of job. A qualified student are able to attract employers' eye easier and as a result it help to reduce the unemployment rate. On the other hand, allowing students to pursue the subject which they dream about may bring a wide range of benefits. In fact, there is a number of students keen on study art and they have incredible capability in aesthetic things such as draw, sing or dance. Being allowed to follow their interest possibly fosters them to become a potential artist in the future and that type of job even helps them to make ends meet. It is undeniable that art is useful for their career. In conclusion, from my perspective, educational institutions had better encourage their students to choose their appropriate field and be responsible for their decision no matter how useless it is criticized.