Some people believe that all university students should have the freedom to study subjects of their interests. Others claim they should limit their choices to specific subjects that can be useful in the future, such as those in the areas of science and technology.

The freedom to major in a subject according to one’s own interest at university has sparked much debate. While some people seem to applaud such personal liberty, others denounce this position and instead recommend that university students opt for more ‘practical’ areas of studies, such as science and technology. What good, the opponents frequently challenge, is a subject without practical applications? They point to some arcane subjects, for example, linguistic, ancient history, and philosophy, of which use is very much questioned. These subjects may seem impractical when students complete their education and might struggle for employment. However, the freedom to choose the subject instead of being dictated upon empowers the students in their educational pursuit. When they feel they make their own choice, university students can attend classes more, complete more tasks and assignments, and take their studies more seriously. All these advantages benefit the students and the universities more because there are fewer dropout rates, more conducive teaching-learning environment, and higher GPAs. While existing employment may not offer anything for the students with very specialized majors, the graduates can blaze a new path. For example, with the advent of science and technology, there have been new majors previously unseen before, such as Epigenetics, Disruptive Science, and Behavioral Economics. These budding areas of studies have ushered millions of dollars into research and development as well as the related history, creating a myriad of jobs unparalleled in modern history. In summary, although the practicality of subjects to be taken by university students is a concerning issue, the interest in the chosen majors is more of paramount importance.