6. Nowadays, the gap between the rich and the poor is becoming wider in some countries of the world. What problems can this situation cause? What solutions should be taken?

Income inequality has always been a much-debate topic all around the world. In the scope of this essay, I will present the main problems associated with this issue as well as some applicable solutions. There are two repercussions of class differences, namely increased crime rate and social conflict. To begin with, people who are living on the breadline have a relatively low living standard with minimal wage jobs and little education. These setbacks hinder their opportunity for advancement to escape their poor background, therefore, they opt for the life of criminals, stealing or dealing drugs, to make ends meet. In addition, the disparity in wealth also causes a clash between people from both sides. The poor criticize the government for not giving them a better allowance, while the rich accuse them of being lazy and work-shy. This constant discontentment may lead to serious consequences like strike, riot, and class warfare, all of which had have been witnessed in Ecuador, Chile, and even the US. To alleviate these problems, the following approaches are likely to be applicable. First, the government should allocate more money for poor people’s welfare funds including free tuition and health insurance by levying taxation on highly profitable businesses and rich individuals. Once essential fees have been covered, there are fewer chances for the lower class to earn money illegally. Regarding social unrest, a way forward might be to provide equal occupational and service opportunities. Since there are no special treatments in lifesustaining matters such as private schools or luxury hospital rooms, people will not feel the need to battle for their rights. In conclusion, social anarchy and the acceleration of crime rates are the two severe repercussions of the wealth gap. However, the governments could impose heavy taxes on the rich and abolish inequitable practices to overcome these hurdles.