Nowadays many people read the news online instead of reading newspaper or watching tv, Discuss the positive and negative effects of this

It is, indeed, a well-known fact that news is an indispendsable part of individual's life to get an update about the world. Since past few years a plethora of people are switching to internet to get the information while others are still accessing it via traditional sources. Although online medium provides the flexibility to access information from anywhere where reliability is a major concern, whereas, newspaper and broadcasting channels publish the authorize content as well as provide the world wide coverage at the cost of deforestation for the newspaper production and time wastage on advertisement on news channels. First and foremost, presently the availability of news about the world on online platform from any location is extremely handy. It is undeniable fact that time is money, with the help of the internet people can access it while commuting or even in break time, this not only save time but also reduce boredom during the travel. the flip side is that the trustworthiness of source the source of the information which can have devastating implications. A relevant example is that a majority of riots in India are the outcome of the sensitive post with no truth in it. Thus, online medium can act as a double-edged sword. On the contrary, the ancient way for pertaining the information using newspaper and broadcasting news channel is not only reliable but also easily available in every household. Newspaper comes in different section such as sport, local, international and entertainment which interest the people in reading the part about which they are fascinated without distraction. Similarly the new channels always provide the latest information on any activities happening all over the globe. The other side of the coin is that for manufacturing newspaper, significant amount of tress are cutting down which contribute in the global warming, moreover, person needs to wait for next day for yesterday news. Beside that in case of television, despite broadcasting the latest up to date information, it is filled with unnecessary advertisement which is frustrating for the viewer. Therefore, this traditional way can be considered as a mixed blessing. Having said that, Can these impediments be mitigated? Of course, the silver lining is that some trivial measurements by the government for controlling the online platform on posting sensitive data and also by regulating the advertisement time on television can alleviate these problems. In conclusion, Accessibility and flexibility of online news sources at the price of reliability and authorized information on traditional sources with a shortcoming of deforestation and distraction via advertisement depicts that both have their own gain and downside which can be improvised by appropriate restriction on online data and law enforcement for advertisement duration from the authorities.