Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school.

It is often argued that every single child should be learning a foreign language the moment they step into the school, while others think it would be the best for them to start learning it in high school. While it is true that primary school children already have complicated school programs that are overwhelming enough for their age, I believe that learning a new language from such a young age would benefit them in future as well as throughout the school. On the one hand, the moment school children start their very first steps in acquiring education they have an immense number of tasks they should complete for the first time in their life, on top of being in an unknown environment where they also need to socialize with their peers and their teachers. All the listed things could be already burdensome for their age, so picking up a new language might take a toll on their educational process. For example, in the UK primary school children’s curriculum consists of literacy in their own mother tongue, reading comprehension, arts, music, basic math which includes fractions, geometry and even statistics. Consequently they have enough to learn and explore, therefore a foreign language would be an additional weight for young children to carry on top of their own school curriculum. On the other hand, being fluent in more than one language from an early age can have a positive impact on the children’s academic intelligence. A study revealed that bilingual children outperform monolingual children on the majority of standardized tests. This can be explained by the fact that being fluent in more than one language since early age can improve cognitive skills and memory. Therefore, adding secondary languages as main course to a program will not only boost language education at schools, it will also improve other fields such as science and math as they require skills that include memory and cognition. Subsequently, knowing more languages is not just a benefit on university applications; it also has a positive influence on the overall academic performances of the school children by stimulating the brain’s functionality to its fullest. In conclusion, while knowing more than one language will seriously benefit school children in many other ways, some still feel that adding a foreign language to primary school curriculum would be burdensome for the children considering they have enough on their plate. However, being fluent in more than one language could have a direct positive effect on students’ overall academic performance which include crucial fields like science and math.