Many people think it takes time and money to preserve the old buildings, so we should knock down the old buildings and build modern ones instead.

It is noticeable that there are many old buildings in the modern cities. Whether they should be knocked down to make a way for new buildings triggers an intense discussion. I believe although some old buildings are not suitable for living, many of them need to be protected regarding their economic and cultural value Admittedly, some old buildings should be torn down due to the safety concerns. Since the architecture technique in the past was not sophisticated enough, the buildings exposes to the danger such as paint falling off, water leakage and poor electricity system. In another words, these buildings could not service the public any more. However, it is not the whole picture. There are still many more historical buildings deserve our protection, and we should not be blind to their worth. Many historical buildings should be reserved since they can contribute to economic development in those regions. As the symbol of the cities, many old buildings can attract tourists from all over the world. For example, when people visit the classical buildings such as the big Ben in London, the summer palace in Beijing and the Eiffel tower in Paris, they need to pay for the tickets and consume in the surroundings, bringing more revenue for government. Moreover, government should refurbish the historical heritages due to the implied culture. Visiting old buildings is a vivid way to help us learn about our history. For example, Qilou, a tradition building in Guangzhou, was introduced by colonists because they didn’t get used to the hot weather there. This can remind us of history the colonization. If ancient buildings were knocked down, our next generations could only picture how our ancestors live by their imagination. In conclusion, many historical buildings serve the functions as economic progress and cultural icons, so government should evaluate their value before replacing them with modern buildings.