Nowadays, a hectic lifestyle leaves people with little time for cooking; therefore, individuals end up eating fast food on a regular basis. This essay will argue that despite having some advantages, the drawbacks of eating highly processed food are more pressing.

The major reasons why many people are turning towards high-calorie restaurant food are its convenience and the trend of current period. Pizzas, burgers and chips etc are available in people's walking distance restaurants and snack-bars, so getting them is always easier than cooking for a long time. Moreover, buying fast food is cheaper compared to the cost of making them at home. Meanwhile, eating out is the in thing in present day. Food industries are spending millions of dollars in marketing of these fancy food, which resulted in dining out as a sign of smartness. So, should we all join the fast food eaters? According to doctors, sugary foods are making people obese. These sugary items contain trans-fat, excessive carbohydrate, which lead people being overweight. For example, a recent survey in Australia concluded that more than one-fifth of its population is too heavy because of highly processed food in their dietary intake. Furthermore, ready-made food does not have all kinds of nutrients. As a result, eating only these types of food for long time causes detrimental effects on human's body. To illustrate, a 17 year old boy in Australia has been blind recently due to only eating french fries, pizzas, hamburgers etc in his diet regularly from the time he got into secondary school. In conclusion, people of modern age are choosing fast food for their main meal. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this habit overpower the benefits.