Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think that it has many disadvantages.

These days the activity of advertising is considered as ubiquitous. A growing number of companies often opt for sponsoring sports and they perceive this method of promoting has various upsides, other people opine that it has many downsides. In my opinion, I believe that it is advantageous to do since it is a great way to advertise company’s products and name. On one side, Companies benefit when they promote their products with famous sports person as it increases their sales dramatically and I agree. For example, Cristiano Ronaldo, a famous Portuguese footballer, promotes Nike’s shoes in his sports events by wearing this brand shoes, therefore, people who get inspired from his performance imitate his style which results in increased sales of a company’s goods. In addition to this, when any company’s trade increases, it not only benefits that particular company but also the country as whole because it increases GDP of the country when those products are exported in other nations as well. On the flip side, companies may indulge in the practices of promoting harmful products through advertising sports which is a major concern for some. Sometimes it is seen that alcohol brands, for instance, are promoted by prominent sports personalities which adversely affect humanity and people’s health. Despite the fact that it will certainly benefit an organization but it will influence children’s thinking and preference. Even if they wary away from these harmful things, they will be tempted to consume that if promoted by their favorite sports person. For example, recent research concluded that percentage of children consuming alcohol increased when a famous brand promoted its product by sponsoring famous football team. To conclude, despite people having different views, I have a perception that countries and companies benefit by sponsoring sports. It will also inculcate healthy habits among the public provided that healthy products are advertised in sports events