some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea while others disagree strongly with. Consider both sides of this debates and present your own idea. You should

There have been arguments on whether or not it is beneficial for secondary school leavers to spend a year at home before proceeding to higher institution. While some individuals perceive it is a productive idea to give students time to build other passion they have, it is totally opposed by others thinking it will have negative impact on their grades especially in first year in the university. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion. On the one hand, staying back for about 12 months after high school gives opportunity to students. This is because they can have this period to build other passion and abilities they have which is able to make them stand out among their peers during university education. For example, I discovered I have passion for fabric design which I was able to achieve by enrolling in fashion school after secondary education. This opened doors of opportunities for me and served as extra source of income. Hence, this idea believed by certain persons to be have positive effect on children. On the other hand, this act is said to have notable negative impact on students' output in year one. The reason being that there is risk of shifting their focus from education and also reducing their mental capacity while waiting. To illustrate, a research conducted by some lecturers on success rate of student after first session in university found out that most of the students with low grades were those who didn't enter university immediately after high school. Therefore, some people feel this act gives students draw backs. In conclusion, I believe that both sides have their merits. However, on balance, I tend to believe that it is more beneficial for children to spend about a year after secondary school building other passion they have to make them outstanding.