Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In recent years, we have seen an alarming increase of students who do not decide on studying science education, such as mathematics, physics and chemistry. This essay will analyse several reasons for this tendency and how it affects on society. To begin with, there are two considerable reasons why young people do not select science subject as a major. Firstly, these subjects seem to be more difficult and abstract than others. For instance, my best friend who is getting a final exam on mathematics has to memorize various abstract formulas and complicated equations. This may eventually result in pupils easily give up on science curriculum. Secondly, the prospect for graduate jobs is an important factor contributing to this phenomenon. It is the truth fact that scientists cannot find a well-paid job compared with businessman and interpreters. When it comes to the effects of this issue, it has some considerable impacts on society. First of all, the number of scientific experts is not enough for demand of basic research. Additionally, research institutions will encounter the difficulty of recruiting a sufficient number of qualified new entrants. On top of that, because of the shortfall of scientists or engineers and the redundant jobs in other fields could lead to an imbalance in the job market. For example, a recent poll by the UK government found that 70% of the people who want to study linguistics and lawyers, and 30% for the rest tended to choose careers related to science. Therefore, this could have serious influence on the sustainable development of many nations in the world. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons why people do not choose science major, and the government should take steps to deal with this problem.