Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion

Some masses support a gap of one year between school and university, while others oppose it. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now. On the one hand, having a gap year is a nice idea for some as it not only helps to gain some practical work experience but also can be seen as a time to decide on a career of interest. After leaving school, youngsters can apply for an apprenticeship in any industry such as information technology and automobile and gain work experience to know how industries work and what is in demand in the market at present. Furthermore, if they are interested in a certain type of career, they can work in that area and decide whether to pursue that path. On the other hand, one year is a long time which is not worth to be wasted as students could lose a precious one year of their life which in turn is a loss in terms of monetary and age factor. If they complete studies on time without losing a year, they can immediately start earning money and support their family. Besides, as they age, they can have health benefits as compared to their peers who took a gap of a year. Moreover, they can be ahead of their peers in all life’s major goals like marriage, children and career. To conclude, although, taking a gap year has some benefits, however, I feel that there should not be any gap year as we may lose precious time, money and health. However, one should consider all the options and take an appropriate decision.