Some people believe it is better to learn by themselves rather than with a teacher. Others prefer to learn with a teacher.

In recent years there has been a movement away from the traditional learning method of attending classes with a teacher. The internet has given learners greater autonomy and the opportunity to learn new skills without a formal trainer. To my mind, this trend will continue but it is not suitable for all subjects or all types of people. Some subjects can be mastered using a self-study approach. Most academic disciplines, including languages and sciences, may be learned quite efficiently by an independent learner receiving feedback from answer keys and exercises. Many students enjoy this method because they prefer to be in control of their learning rather than follow the pace of a teacher and classmates. However, other subjects need a teacher. Most disciplines that involve practical and social skills, such as nursing, hospitality and management, require subjective feedback from a real human being. It is unlikely that a patient would want to be operated on by a surgeon who had studied without a teacher. To my mind, the answer to this question depends on what you are studying and the kind of person you are. If you are studying a fairly objective academic subject or you are the kind of learner who wants to go at your own pace and be in control, then in is better to study independently. If, on the other hand, you are studying a more practical discipline or you are the can of learner who needs to be motivated by peers, you should join a class and be led by a teacher. To conclude, thanks to technology, more and more people will opt to study without a teacher. However, this method is not for everyone and not for every subject.