Some people believe foreign language should be taught at school while others disagree. state advantages and disadvantages of learning a foreign language.

A growing number of parents are enrolling their children in foreign language classes for well-rounded linguistic development. In this regard, some educators propose that primary school is the best place for learning another language instead of secondary school. This essay will explore both, the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal, and demonstrate why it proponents are correct. In regards to the disadvantages, the main drawback of teaching a foreign language at primary school is that it may result in underperformance in other vital subjects. Subjects like math, science and computer programming have real world applications, and allocating time away from these subjects can lower our children’s employability in the future. For example, digitalization is now displacing more and more jobs with automation, and as a result, many favor scientific subjects over creative ones, in order to ensure their children’s job security. However, although this is an understandable concern, this viewpoint undermines the true value of bilingualism. Knowing a foreign language will result in significant advantages to the child’s overall development. One of the biggest benefits would be that children will learn to appreciate other cultures from an early age. This is likely to lead to a healthy social life and improved psychological and emotional state, which are far more vital than job security. In fact, research proves that level of one's happiness and his/her income is directly corelated. In conclusion, while studying a foreign language in primary school does have some drawbacks, they are temporary and outweighed by significant benefits of this approach, which is why I would urge school boards to introduce foreign language classes as early as possible.