Censorship is necessary in modern society. Discuss

“Censorship reflects society’s lack of confidence in itself. It is a hallmark of an authoritarian regime, ” Potter Stewart said once. Therefore, whether there is a need for restricting the right to freedom of opinion and expression in a present-day nation is a topic up to debate. thesis statement is missing To begin with, a large number of people advocate for censorship in the name of a collective good. Thus, control up to a point has been exercised by governments around the world to serve the public interest. In particular, a ban on television advertisements to protect adolescents from exposure to the tobacco and gambling industries has been a common practice. An additional advantage of censorship can be the prevention of political extremism. This is shown by the fact that countries such as Germany and Austria have restrictions in place to limit the use of ideological symbols associated with social nationalism. ( underdeveloped - too general) On the other hand, many critics argue that constraints on civil liberties can be used by political groups to build a totalitarian state. A typical example of this can be the communist parties of China and North Korea that have managed to usurp power in this manner. Another negative aspect of censorship can be the obstruction of artistic freedom. As an example, one can recall the autocratic control of arts in the USSR under Stalin. All things this considered, it is a highly contested subject whether or not censorship has would have more of a positive or negative effect on the current society. Hence, I am convinced that it can be an effective tool if used in moderation or else it can be abused in the hands of politicians.