Some people believe that it is good for a country to host a major sports competition. Others think it causes many problems for the country. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion

People have different opinions about whether it is advantageous to be a host nation of an important sports event or not. While it can be argued that it is beneficial for a country to organize the championship, I believe that being a host of a big competition does more harm than good. On the one hand, it is understandable why some believe that the country which set up a major sports contest will get well-known quickly. This is because there will be many famous competitors coming to the host site along with visitors and fans from all over the world. As a result, the country’s service industry will make a huge profit during the event. If the competition were arranged properly, the country itself might improve the citizens’ quality of life. Despite the above arguments, I support the view that it is adverse to host a popular sports competition. Firstly, organizing a tourney requires a huge source of funds. During the preparation and the event, the nation has to pay for building sports stadiums, participants’ hotel rent, and charge for advertising. For instance, the 2014 Olympics in Sochi costs the organizing committee 40 billion dollars more than the funding. Secondly, sports tournament causes environmental pollution. Because they have to destroy forests to build stadiums, more visitors means more vehicles’ emissions, and more litter is thrown indiscriminately. In other words, the host country is risking its whole economy and living environment on a sports game. In conclusion, although there are good arguments in favor of giving authority to a country to organize a sports contest, it seems to me that a group of countries coming together to set up the tournament would be a better idea as this is more cost-effective and environmental-friendly.