Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draws the attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important.

Although it is sometimes thought that well-known people should exert celebrity effect to attract people to support global aid programmes, other people believe that celebrities(stars) may not gain too much publicity for this issue. In my opinion, I consider that celebrities are always under the spotlight, and they will influence people in different countries and cultures worldwide. On the one hand, some people think that famous people draw media attention wherever they go which helps to highlight the aid organization and I agree. In other words, charities or causes can be made more famous by celebrity involvement. People are more likely to donate when they are called to action by their favorite actor or football star. Furthermore, celebrities are able to bridge the gap between a tragedy that has occurred in a distant place and bring it into people’s sitting rooms, making the problem seem more real and less remote. On the other hand, it is often believed that celebrities, like everyone else, may have moral shortcomings or make the wrong life choices. If the famous people’s image is damaged in the media, it could have repercussions on the charity. This means the charity becomes dependent on famous people maintaining popularity which cannot always be guaranteed. Moreover, some people may lose interest in a charity or stop their involvement if they do not like a particular star. A celebrity’s job is to entertain people, and their involvement can make the message shallow if they do not work with the charity. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that a famous voice is often more trustworthy and more compelling when it comes to global issues.