Some people argued that video games are a waste of time, and people should spend their time and money on better hobbies. Compare and contrast the benefits of video games with other hobbies. In your opinion, which is more useful? Why?

Nowadays video games have become increasingly popular not only among youngsters, but also among adults. It is the belief of some individuals that one should invest his/her time and money in more meaningful pastimes, such as sports. Both these hobbies have their similar and opposing advantages that will be examined in this essay and at the end I will give my own perspective on which of them I think is more useful. Sports and video games may seem quite different, even though they share some benefits. Video games usually involve connecting with other players and thus create a social environment where the players can interact with each other. In addition, many games require players to work as a team. Similarly, the majority of sports, for example football and basketball, are played in a team, resulting in excellent social skills and creating a feeling of community. On the other hand, those two pastimes also appear to be contrasting. Being active enables people to stay fit and contributes to their overall well-being, especially if they sit down daily. For instance, if one visits the gym at least two times a week, this will help them feel healthier on a daily basis. However, rarely do players of video games practice sports as they are constantly immersed in the game. This is due to the fact that those games make them relaxed while enjoying the virtual reality and escaping from their problems. In conclusion, despite the advantages of video games, I am convinced that there are certainly another options for spending free time, which are more beneficial, such as sports, because human health should be taken care of the most in order one to be able to perform their daily tasks and there is no better way for that than sports.