some people argue that young people should expend a year after finishing the school

Nowadays it is a trend in some countries that the young people travel before they start the university studies. There are many merits and demerits for young people who decide to do this. First of all, taking a break could really help in rejuvenating people. When you travel, you gain a lot of experience. Usually, when people are in high school they live under protected home environment; in the case of any problem, you can seek parents and friends help and advice. But when you travel, you are on your own and if you face any problem, you learn to deal with it. This not only gives you the experience to deal with tough situations later in the life but also gives confidence. There are many programs around the world where you get to visit another country and volunteer your time and effort. Most of the organisations give you food and lodging in exchange for you working for and with them. As youngsters start to earn money through work, they may incline towards bad habits such as smoking, alcohol consumption, drug addiction and so on. There are some serious problems with this idea is that, students take up a break from their studies might not continue with their studies after a year. As they are juvenile, they could have lack in decision making. It might be a hindrance to their future carrier. When we weigh both sides, the advantages are more. From the above reasons, in my opinion, countries should encourage their young people to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.