Some people argue that the purpose of zoos is only to entertain people. What do you think? What are the other purposes of zoos?

Around the world, people can find all the different species in the zoo. Some people believe main aim of having zoos in the cities is the amusement of the people. However, I do not agree with this outlook and believe zoos also serve other purposes. In this essay, we will analyse how zoos can benefit endangered species and play a role in educating young people. First of all, the purpose of gathering various animals at a single place is the wildlife education for children. For instance, getting knowledge about anything can become much easier when kids actually see them. In other words, zoo keeper talks organised at zoos provides very useful information on these animals and thereby, students can learn to respect all the living creatures. Therefore, it is evident that educating school pupils is the one important purpose of these zoos. Another crucial need of zoos is protecting endangered species. A good illustration for this is that these species can be saved from being killed by the hunters and also scientist can work on improving the population of these species by arranging artificial breeding programs. Thus, the future generation will also be able to experience these animals and the issue of extinction of animals can be solved. From above, the theory of having zoos for conserving wildlife is difficult to debunk. In conclusion, it is seen that the zoos not only play a key role in the education of folks but also help to guard animals against hunting. Thus, it is incorrect to say that zoos are only for the entertainment of the society. It is thus hoped that people will realise the actual advantage of zoos and will encourage the government to maintain and build more zoos.