some people argue that the inclusion of physical education

The inclusion of physical education classes into the school curricula has been a topic of increasing debate. Some argue that school children should not waste time on non-academic subjects, whereas others side with their inclusion for the overall physical health of children. This essay will discuss, with given reasons, both points of view. Now, with increasing modern technology, children often feel no need to wander beyond their bedroom and phone spending hours sitting down. This has caused a rise in obesity levels. However, simply including one physical education class a day can overcome this dilemma as it allows students to engage in different forms of exercise daily while not forcing an overwhelming effect on their personal lives. In addition, classes as such will enable students to look beyond the scope of academics in terms of career paths. For one might discover a passion for sports, exercise or any physical education field. This will diversify the career paths of the coming generation, thus resulting in a well-rounded society. Finally, a study conducted in 2015, found that serotonin levels in children who participated in sports activities were greater than their counterpart, as well as improved academic performance. With the rise of the COVID-19 pandemic, the academic field has become increasingly competitive. That being said, more parents are arguing that a sports class would be a waste of time and that children should instead focus on academics and achieving high grades for their prospective university options. It is also worth mentioning that a few believe that the health and physical well-being of children is a parental responsibility and not the schools. Indeed, sports classes might be beneficial, but they create competition between classmates and can affect forming friendships and ultimately, result in bullying. For instance, a student not being able to perform a sport with the same skill level as his peers will be a social outcast. To conclude, whether to include physical education classes is arguable; however, there are certain benefits on the health of children alongside the academic drawback. In my opinion, I believe their addition to the school curriculum will prove more advantages than their absence.