Who has the greater influence on the world: politicians or scientists?

Nowadays, people often argue about who has the real power to affect human's society. In my viewpoint, the role of political figures and scientists are equally essential, and that neither sides should be undermined. On the one hand, it needs to be acknowledged that without authourities, the world would stumble into chaos. Throughout history of mankind, there have always been leaders, no matter what century. At first, in the ancient civilization, it was the elder of a tribe to make decision for its people, and then as the world evolved, it was kings, emperors, and as of today, it is the presidents, the governments that have a final say in national matters. Without them, there would be no law to prevent and punish criminals, no policies to protect civillians. Take Vietnam for example, in the 4th century, there was a 50-year period when the country suffered from civil wars, famine, all due to the lack of a ruling system. Furthermore, they have the responsibility to response to international threat and to come to agreement for the sake of peace. Countless wars with tremendous amount of casualty would take place otherwise. On the other hand, scientists are responsible for a great deal of human's achievement. To begin with, the world wouldn't be this advanced without science. As a matter of fact, all the tools, all the electronic devices that are present in daily life are the result of thousands of years reasearching and trialling. For instance, Mendeleev laid the basis for a whole aspect of sciene thanks to his experiments about elements. Moreover, the Earth is full of mysteries, and therefore, physicists and chemists will always be needed. By understanding how nature works, and how every life interacts with each other, human take a step closer in making the world a better place to live. In short, thanks to science, we don't just survive, but we thrive as well. In conclusion, both politicians and scientist contribute greatly to the development of our planet. It is clear to me that they should work together to ensure the best future for human.