Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think the success is much related to the mental attitude.

Nowadays, many hold the view that the strongest sports players can gain the first prize in matches. However, there is a body of opinion which holds that positive mental attitude influences the final results of games. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, it is undeniable that people who are physically strongest can easily achieve the greatest success, since sports require players to have strength. In this way, those who are tallest or fittest can easily beat those who are not. For example, James, the most successful basketball player in the world, enjoys advantages in length and strength. In addition, every team member who is the strongest can also help the whole team gain the biggest achievements. A good case in point is that the Eagle team has won the most champions in the final competitions of the American football only because its group members are stronger than any other team’s ones. On the other hand, however, positive mental attitude can also help individuals achieve the biggest success in some sports. This is because such mental attitude as tenacity can allow the players to persist to the end in the sports which take longer time. For instance, most of the marathon champions are not those who are the strongest but those who can fight to the end. Furthermore, self-confidence can encourage team players to win matches. For instance, the football team of Korea in the 2018 world cup miraculously conquered that of Germany owing to the 100% confidence in themselves rather than stronger physical conditions. To summarize, there is no doubt that the strongest bodies can help individuals and groups attain the greatest achievement. At the same, however, confidence and tenacity are also the most important factors to this huge outcome. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the strongest sportsmen and teams with positive mental attitude can achieve the greatest success.