Some people argue that secondary school students should learn a subject about international news, while other people believe that it is a waste of time. Describe both arguments and say your opinion.

It goes without saying that international news has lots of vital impact on nowadays society. Some people hold a belief that we should put international news on the secondary school curriculum, while others argue that it is such a waste of time. Personally, I strongly believe that replacing news with other subjects is too dangerous. On the one hand, putting international news in the secondary school curriculum has numerous benefits. First of all, the exposure to the world news expands young learners’ knowledge and thus widen their outlook. For example, students can get knowledge about what is trending right now, what is the most controversial issue, hence, they can develop soft skills and knowledge such as communication, debate, . . . Moreover, by following international news, the young learners become more conscious of global issues such as global warming and climate change, which motivates them to adopt a lifestyle that is more healthy and friendly to the Earth. Take marine debris news as an excellent example, when youngsters acknowledge the fact that the sea is heavily polluted, they started to use recyclable stuff, and even persuade others to live a more friendly life. On the other hand, the nature of news is changeable. International news changes over time, thus it would be practically impossible to introduce as a subject. Otherwise, the program and books will change casually. Another crucial reason for not making international news as a new subject is that news can simply be misleading, distorted, irrelevant since media organizations are struggling to win reader’s attention. They will do at any cost to exaggerate their news, even if it is fake. Furthermore, news can be accessed conveniently at home. Why have to go to school and learn a whole new lesson when students can sit comfortably at home, watching TV or surfing the internet and acquiring news without effort. In conclusion, it is undeniable that international news could be a potential subject. However, in my opinion, I think introducing news in the curriculum is needless, society and the government should not put too much pressure on young learners. We had better maintaining this education system.