Some people argue that parents should cultivate children to make a contribution to society while others believe that school is responsible for teaching this.

Some people argue that parents should cultivate children to make a contribution to society while others believe that school is responsible for teaching this. In my opinion, I think that a parallel development of both parental instruction and school education can yield greater outcomes if we aim to build a more close-knit and prosperous community. On the one hand, parents play an vitally important role in teaching children how to behave in their early lives. It is their parents that children spend most of the time with before they are old enough to attend school. Young children are prone to copy what their parents say and do just as they see so parents should act as an example. For instance, if a couple often does volunteer services when they are free, such as tendering public gardens and removing graffiti on the wall, their children could naturally join them, thereby making a devotion to the community. By contrast, the repeatedly inappropriate behaviours of parents could result mistakes of their children, such as throwing litter at will and trampling on the grass. On the other hand, school should also be held accountable for teaching children behavioral norms. Although one main function of school is to teach students knowledge of academic subjects, the wisdom of being a good member of society and similar courses are of equal significance to be included in the school curriculum. No matter how exceptional one achieves in academic performance, he or she cannot truly achieve fame and wealth unless something really beneficial to the whole community has been done. For example, teachers can teach students how to tell right from wrong because there are numerous ethical dilemmas one will face in the future, such as making false claims about the products to strike a deal with clients. In short, a holistic education would be the best option for both society and individuals. In conclusion, I personally argue that both parents and teachers are important when guiding children to become good members of society.